Welcome Guest | Your Account | Sign In

MBA Welcomes First Judge-President

Legal, Community and Law Enforcement Honors Awarded at Annual Business Meeting

On Friday, January 14, the Honorable Carolyn Tornetta Carluccio took the reins as the Montgomery Bar Association's 87th President.  The time-honored "Passing of the Gavel" ceremony was the last item of business at this year's Annual Business Meeting-- an event which unfolded before 300+ members and distinguished guests at Meadowlands Country Club in Blue Bell.  Judge Carluccio's installment followed a series of awards given to community and law enforcement leaders and a heartfelt farewell speech by outgoing President Steven H. Lupin.  This landmark event marked the first time in MBA history that an active member of the Bench will serve as Bar President and only the third time a woman has served in this capacity. 

Montco Bar President Urges Diversity in Leadership
By: Amaris Elliott-Engel, As seen in The Legal Intelligencer
Article provided with permission of American Lawyer Media

Deputy Chief County Detective Samuel Gallen accepts the Louis D. Stefan Law Enforcement Award from Bar Foundation President Mark A. Kearney, Esq.  The award is presented annually by the Montgomery Bar Foundation to an individual who promotes the rule of law and the administration of justice in the community. 
MCAP's Mary C. Pugh, Esq. is honored as recipient of the Milton O. Moss Award for distinguished service to the judicial system. Pugh received this award for her breadth of work as Executive Director of the Montgomery Child Advocacy Project.
2010 Committee of the Year Recipient, Eric Smith (right)- Accepting as Chair (and on behalf of) the Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee.
Award presented by 2010 MBA President Steven H. Lupin (left).

Pictured from left  to right -  2011 MBA Young Lawyers Section President Justin A. Bayer and 2010 MBA President Steven H. Lupin with  2010 Young Lawyer of the Year, Patrick J. Kurtas .