Welcome Guest | Your Account | Sign In
Extreme Home Makeover 2014
Above: Members of the MBA's Young Lawyers Section take a short break from their work for a photo with the Honorable Cheryl L. Austin and 2014 MBA President Michael F. Rogers. The group carried out a long tradition of volunteering and local home rehabs on Monday, January 20th.

Harleysville, PA - On January 20, 2014, thirteen members of the Bar Association attended a Day of Service in memory of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., organized by the Young Lawyer’s Section. The volunteer attorneys – composed of both younger and older members of the bar, and one member of the bench – assisted the Keystone Opportunity Center in preparing a transitional housing unit for new residents.  

Keystone is a non-profit based out of Souderton, PA, which provides services to the local community in the form of a food pantry, housing assistance, and educational programing (including ESL, GED, and literacy classes and English language/civics classes for individuals pursuing naturalization).  Through their housing assistance program, Keystone assists individuals and families move from crisis to stability and independence in permanent, affordable housing.  Keystone relies on volunteers to operate their housing program; without the assistance of volunteers to perform cleaning and repairs between tenants, Keystone would not be able to afford to provide these services. 

The volunteers spent the day emptying and cleaning the unit, and then patching, sanding, and applying a fresh coat of paint to the walls of the two-bedroom apartment. Another set of volunteers will clean the carpets, and then the unit will be ready to house a new family.  A new family is expected to be in the home by February.  A video of some of the work done is available at http://www.thereporteronline.com/social-affairs/20140120/volunteers-serve-on-mlk-day.

Volunteers included the Honorable Cheryl Austin,  Jenna Berman, Rebecca Cantor, Lindette Hassan, Aimee Kumer, Andy Levin, Melissa Mazur, James McCarrie, Chris McGonagle, David Moscow, Colin O’Boyle, William Roark and Michael Rogers.