News Releases

January 13, 2017

MBA Welcomes New Leaders at Annual Business Luncheon

Passing of the Gavel

2016 MBA President Carolyn R. Mirabile, Esq. passes the gavel to 2017 President Eric B. Smith, Esq.

Blue Bell, PA -- On Friday, January 13, 2017, the Montgomery Bar Association (MBA) held its Annual Business Luncheon Meeting at Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center in Blue Bell, PA.  Nearly 300 local dignitaries, legal professionals and community leaders attended the event which included the election of the MBA’s officers for 2017, an awards presentation to honor area attorneys and judges, as well as the installation of its new president, Eric B. Smith, Esq., with the ceremonial passing of the gavel.

Mr. Smith is a partner of High Swartz LLP in Norristown, PA.  His practice focuses on commercial and real estate litigation. Mr. Smith’s commercial litigation practice includes the representation of clients in contract and warranty disputes, disputes under UCC-Sales, construction disputes, mechanics' liens, Contractor and Subcontractor Payment Act claims and unfair trade practice claims.  In 2010 Home Depot U.S.A., Inc. appointed Mr. Smith as its Regional Outside Counsel for the region that includes Pennsylvania and New Jersey.  His real estate litigation practice includes adverse possession, easement and boundary disputes, quiet title, reformation, partition and eminent domain.  Mr. Smith has served as a court appointed master-in-partition for the Court of Common Pleas of Montgomery County. His municipal practice includes home rule law as well as municipal litigation. At High Swartz LLP, Mr. Smith has also served as a member of the firm's management committee.

Prior to joining High Swartz LLP, Mr. Smith served as the law clerk to the Honorable Samuel W. Salus, II, of the Montgomery County Court of Common Pleas. Additionally, while attending law school, he served as a Comments Editor for the Dickinson Law Review and as the law clerk to the Honorable Kevin A. Hess of the Cumberland County Court of Common Pleas. Mr. Smith attended Franklin and Marshall College and the Dickinson School of Law.

Eric is the father of two wonderful daughters, Madison (11) and Jordan (9), and lives in Bryn Mawr. 

For the 2017 Bar Year, Mary C. Pugh, Esq. will serve as President-Elect, Gregory R. Gifford, Esq. will serve as Vice President, Patrick J. Kurtas, Esq. will serve as Treasurer and Jacqueline M. Reynolds, Esq. will serve as Secretary.

Also of Note:  Robert J. Birch, Esq., a solo practitioner in Norristown, was named President of the MBA’s Trial Lawyers Section, Lindsay H. Childs, Esq. of Vetrano | Vetrano & Feinman LLC in King of Prussia was named Chair of the MBA’s Young Lawyers Section, Andrew D. Taylor, Esq., of Shemtob Law, P.C. in Blue Bell was named Chair of the MBA’s Family Law Section, and Thomas A. Boulden, Esq., of Timoney Knox, LLP in Fort Washington, was named Chair of the MBA’s Probate and Tax Section.

In addition to new leadership being appointed, the following awards were distributed:


Hon. Milton O. Moss Public Service Award

Hon. Lois E. Murphy

Hon. Milton O. Moss Public Service Award

The Honorable Lois E. Murphy (left) accepts the Hon. Milton O. Moss Award from Montgomery Bar Foundation President Michael F. Rogers, Esq.

Presidents Award

Cary L. Flitter, Esq.

Presidents Award

Cary L. Flitter, Esq. (left) receives the Presidents Award from 2016 MBA President Carolyn R. Mirabile, Esq.(right).

Committee of the Year Award

Community Outreach Committee

Committee of the Year

Accepting on behalf of the Community Outreach Committee are Co-Chairs Melissa M. Boyd, Esq. (left) and Hon. Carolyn T. Carluccio (center).

Young Lawyers Section Award

Lindette C. Hassan, Esq.

Young Lawyers Award

2017 Chair of the Young Lawyers Section Lindsay H. Childs, Esq. (left) presents the Young Laywers Section Award to 2016 Chair Lindette C. Hassan, Esq. (right).

Click here to view more photos from the event.