News Releases

January 19, 2018

MBA Welcomes New Leaders at Annual Business Luncheon

Passing of the Gavel

2017 MBA President Eric B. Smith, Esq. passes the gavel to 2018 President Mary C. Pugh, Esq.

Blue Bell, PA -- On Friday, January 19, 2018, the Montgomery Bar Association (MBA) held its Annual Business Luncheon Meeting at Bluestone Country Club in Blue Bell, PA.  Nearly 300 local dignitaries, legal professionals and community leaders attended the event which included the election of the MBA’s officers for 2018, an awards presentation to honor area attorneys and judges, as well as the installation of its new president, Mary C. Pugh, Esq., with the ceremonial passing of the gavel.

Ms. Pugh is the Executive Director of Montgomery Child Advocacy Project (MCAP).   MCAP is a nonprofit organization providing free legal services to abused and neglected children in Montgomery County through the services of pro bono attorneys.  Prior to her work with MCAP, Ms. Pugh was a trial attorney concentrating in the area of medical malpractice, defending healthcare providers and hospitals. As an active member of the Pennsylvania Bar Association, Ms. Pugh is a Zone 9 delegate, the co-chairperson to the PBA Legal Services to the Public Committee, served as the chairperson of the Child Advocate Pro Bono Committee and a member of the Children’s Rights Committee. Ms. Pugh has been a member of the Montgomery Bar Association since 1989 and also serves as the chairperson of the Child Advocacy Committee, member of the Community Outreach Committee, and a past member of the Membership Committee. She is also a fellow of the MBA Bar Foundation.

In 2006, Ms. Pugh received the Pennsylvania Bar Association Everyday Leader Award.  She received the American Bar Association General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division 2007 Difference Makers Award.  In 2009, Ms. Pugh was awarded the Special Recognition Award of the Pennsylvania Bar Association. In 2010, she received the Hon. Milton O. Moss Award from the MBA for her service with MCAP. She is a member of the Youth Aid Panel of Montgomery County, the Children’s Roundtable and the former Chairperson of the Montgomery County Office of Children & Youth Citizens Advisory Committee.  Ms. Pugh was a member of the Board of Trustee for Mount Saint Joseph Academy from 2011 through 2017 and served as a member of the Board of Trustees for Waldron Mercy Academy from 2009 through 2012.

Ms. Pugh received her Bachelor’s Degree from Rosemont College, graduating summa cum laude.  She received the Genevieve Blatt Award and Esther Sylvester Law School scholarship to Villanova Law School where she served as a member of the Law Review from 1985-1986.  Ms. Pugh is married to William Pugh, V and has four daughters, Allie McAleer, Megan, Katie and Lauren Pugh, a son-in–law, Ryan McAleer. Mary and Bill are the doting grandparents of Reese McAleer.

For the 2018 Bar Year, Gregory R. Gifford, Esq. will serve as President-Elect, Patrick J. Kurtas, Esq. will serve as Vice President, Jacqueline M. Reynolds, Esq.  will serve as Treasurer and Sarinia M. Feinman, Esq. will serve as Secretary.

Also of Note:  Ethan R. O'Shea, Esq., of Hamburg, Rubin, Mullin, Maxwell & Lupin, PC in Lansdale was named President of the MBA’s Trial Lawyers Section, Aimee L. Kumer, Esq. of Elliott Greenleaf P.C. in Blue Bell was named Chair of the MBA’s Young Lawyers Section, Jonathan T. Hoffman, Esq., of Cozen O'Connor in West Conshohocken was named Chair of the MBA’s Family Law Section, and Thomas A. Boulden, Esq., of Timoney Knox, LLP in Fort Washington, was named Chair of the MBA’s Probate and Tax Section.

In addition to new leadership being appointed, the following awards were distributed:


President's Award

C. Dale McClain, Esq.

Presidents Award

C. Dale McClain, Esq. (left) accepts the President's Award from 2017 MBA President Eric B. Smith, Esq. (right).

Hon. Louis D. Stefan Law Enforcement Award

T. Michael Beaty, Montgomery County Chief Deputy Sheriff

Stefan Award

T. Michael Beaty (right) receives the Hon. Louis D. Stefan Award from Montgomery Bar Foundation President Michael F. Rogers, Esq.(left).

Committee of the Year Award

Community Outreach Committee

Committee of the Year

The Honorable Thomas M. Del Ricci (left) receives the Committee of the Year Award on behalf of the Ad-Hoc Justice Center Advisory Committee from 2017 MBA President Eric B. Smith, Esq. (right).

Young Lawyers Section Award

Lindsay H. Childs, Esq.

Young Lawyers Award

2017 Chair of the Young Lawyers Section Lindsay H. Childs, Esq. (left) receives the Young Lawyers Section Award from 2018 Chair Aimee L. Kumer, Esq. (right).

Hon. Milton O. Moss Public Service Award

The Honorable Stanley R. Ott


Click here to view more photos from the event.